You are at netAirspace : Forum : Air and Space Forums : Civil Aviation

Reducing the Airline Hour Req

All about Airlines and Airliners.

Lucas (netAirspace ATC & Founding Member) 14 May 22, 14:26Post
Republic Airways has asked the FAA to lower the hour requirement for pilots. It went up after the Colgan crash.

I think that 1500 is probably too high, and that Republic has some good points. My cousin is a captain and says that the main difference is now they get high-time people who should never be in a cockpit flying, and that's about it.

Anyone have any insight?
DXing 15 May 22, 13:14Post
I agree. There has to be a happy medium between 40 hours and 1500. I will say this, when I worked in the industry there was always talk that just prior to the Colgan crash the pendulum was swinging the other way and people with not enough time or experience were getting hired. Thankfully the vast majority of them washed out. The Colgan crash was a combination of several human factors as well as job working conditions. Thinking that placing a 1500 minimum on pilots would be the cure all was just lazy thinking. It's probably placed more of a strain on a system that was already facing a manpower shortage than was necessary.

As an example, in WW2 it would take anywhere from 140 to 160 flying hours to train someone who had no flying experience to a rating in a B17 in the Army Air Corp. I actually think flying those would have been as difficult as a modern-day jet as virtually nothing was automated and there wasn't a bitchn Betty or stick shaker to point out your basic failures.
What's the point of an open door policy if inside the open door sits a closed mind?
ShyFlyer (Founding Member) 16 May 22, 00:59Post
Lucas wrote:Republic Airways has asked the FAA to lower the hour requirement for pilots. It went up after the Colgan crash.

I always thought it was typical bureaucratic response especially considering that both pilots in that crash had more than 1500hrs.